Who will select the 2016 Balkan Photo Award winners?

Similarly to previous years, the Organization Team of the Balkan Photo Festival has appointed jury members to select the 2016 Balkan Photo Award winners in 11 categories: Daily Life, Portrait, Creative Photography, Nature and Environment, News and Events, Sports, Fashion, Mobile Phone, Cultural Heritage, Nude Photography and Photo Reportage/Photo Series

A special online application has been developed by the Fotografija.ba web portal’s IT team for the needs of the Balkan Photo Festival. The application enables contestants to enter their submissions with minimum effort, and ensures an anonymous photo selection process by the BPA jury.

All photographs uploaded through the online application will be anonymized. Jury members will not have access to any information that may identify the authors and will only be able to view photo descriptions.

The IT team will process all submitted entries to remove any identifying information such as author’s name inside the photo captions etc (i.e. in case this was not automatically removed during upload).

The IT team will also process all entries so as to disqualify photographs containing imprinted watermarks.

During the next stage of the selection process the jury will grade every photograph with a YES or NO; a photograph will need to collect more than a half of positive votes to enter the next round.

In the third stage of the selection process the photographs will be rated on a scale from 1 to 10 in three categories: message/idea, technical execution and composition/artistic value. This will result in the selection of 90 shortlisted photographs and among them the winners. In the case of a tie, the winner will be selected by the jury chair, who will provide a written explanation of their choice.

This year’s jury panel consists of: Myles Little (US, Jury Chair), Ilvy Njiokiktjien (NL), Srđan Živulović (SLO), Petar Jurica (CRO), Goran Lizdek (BiH), Daniel Mihailescu (RO), Srđan Ilić (SRB), Boryana Katsarova (BUL), Majlinda Hoxha (KV), Ljiljana Karadžić (MNE), Ana Farngovska (MKD) and Ferhat Uludaglar – Zupcevic (TUR)

Please click HERE to find more about our jury members

The deadline for BPA entries is 5 January 2017. Please follow this link if to apply. The award ceremony will take place on 27 January 2017 in the Sarajevo City Hall. The ceremony will also mark the beginning of the Festival program that will include a series of lectures, workshops and visiting exhibitions.

2016 Balkan Photo Award prize list


The expert jury consisting of 12 photography professionals will review all submissions and select 90 finalists, as well as our winners in 11 categories who will be awarded the Balkan Photo Award statuette. In addition to these, the jury – in cooperation with our sponsors – will select two especially distinguished works and award them with the following prizes:

The most successful contestant will be presented with a Canon Grand Prix Award – a Canon EOS 5D MK IV digital camera.

Canon EOS 80D
Canon EOS 80D

A special recognition will be awarded by Avtera BH in the form of a Canon EOS 80D digital camera.

In addition to this, all finalists and contestants will receive their complimentary copy of the exhibition catalog.

This year’s Festival is supported by: the European Union Special Representative (EUSR), City of Sarajevo, UNICEF, Federal Ministry od Culture and Sports, BiH Art Gallery. The contest general sponsor is Canon and golden sponsor is Avtera BH. The contest is also supported by the following sponsors and friends: BlackBOX Gallery, New Event, Festival Hotel, Ilford, FAN Ferhatović and EUROBHPLAKATBH.

The Festival’s official photo/news agency is Pixsell Photo Agency.

The contest media partners are: N1, RSG, Antena Sarajevo, Dani Magazine, Oslobođenje, Dodho Magazine and Urban Magazine.



  • December 24, 2016

BLOG Archive

No sub-categories

Balkan Photo Festival on Facebook

Balkan Photo Award on Facebook

Fotografija.ba on Facebook